Friday, April 24, 2009

Meeting the HOSTies -- CrochetMaggie

Your name and shop name(s): Maggie Carlin

Tell us a little bit about yourself: I'm a stay home mom to 5 children newborn through age 10. We are in the middle of our first year of home schooling, it is quite the adventure. We also have 3 cats, 2 dogs, and 4 fish. I love animals, gardening and crafts. I am working toward reducing the amount of waste my family produces and becoming more self-sufficient. We're doing this by recycling what we can, not using disposable plates, napkins, etc, and growing a vegetable garden. I love walking through the local farmer's market and garage sales too! I love to crochet, and can make just about anything that can be made with a crochet hook. My grandmother taught me the basic stitches when I was 8 years old. She couldn't read patterns, so a few years later I taught myself to read the patterns and have since learned to also make my own. I also love repairing old family crocheted heirlooms that have become damaged.

How/why did you become involved with HOST: I was there for the first thread Christmas '07. We were having a rough year, and I asked for good thoughts. Somehow I got pulled in and felt the need to help more! I created the first Yahoo group and database of needs for the group. I've since been in and out helping here and there as I can. My family life has become so much more demanding though, so I'm here as I can be. I have loved the idea from the beginning though, and I hope we can continue to help as many as possible, especially through the troubling times ahead.

Any advice you would like to share with others that might read this?Just keep going. Let go of what's holding you back, and just keep taking one step forward.
Related Posts with Thumbnails